
D&D Rules for Naval Conflict using the Pirates of the Spanish Main miniatures game 
The Basics 
• Each player will receive one ship to captain during this scenario.   
• You will also choose one crew member to add to your ship.  See the “crew” section at the end. 
• On your turn, you will have a minor action, a move action, and a standard action to spend.  What you can use each of 

these actions for is detailed below.  You may “trade down” any of these actions as you normally would. 
• There is a wizard, known as a “canon,” who shoots force orbs from the top of each mast on your ship.  When your ship is 

hit by enemy fire, you lose a mast, and therefore a canon. (Note: The crew calls them “canons” because they’re 
traditionally smarter than the rest of the crew) 

• Movement distances and canon ranges are measured in “S” for “Short” (color coded white) and “L” for “Long” (color 
coded red).  Short equals two squares, and long equals three. 

• A ship with no masts cannot move, and is declared derelict.  Successfully attacking a derelict sinks it. 
• The direction your ship is facing in DOES matter. 
• Any rules regarding “nationality” (Pirate, English, Spanish, etc.) will be ignored. 
 
Minor Actions 
• Transfer crew between ships: If you end your movement adjacent to an ally, you can transfer any of your crew to your 

ally’s ship. (Players may not leave their ship) 
• Hooking up a derelict ship for towing: If you end your movement adjacent to a derelict ship, you may move that ship 

behind yours to tow it.  Towing a ship reduces your movement to “S.” 
• Rescue survivors from a sunken vessel: If you end your movement in a sunken ship’s square, you may pick up any 

surviving crew, and add them to your crew.  Players who are rescued in this manner become musketeers on the new ship, 
and roll their attack on that ship’s turn.  See below for details on musketeers. 

 
Move Actions 
• Move:  

o You may move the distance indicated on your card.   
o If your card has two movement values (e.g. “S+S”) you may move twice.   
o You must move in a straight line each time you move; if your card indicates two movements, you may change 

direction between moves. 
o You may not turn more than 90 degrees from your starting position. 

• Come About:   
o Instead of moving, you may turn in place.  When coming about, the front of your ship (the bow) can turn up to 

180 degrees. 
 
Standard Actions 
• Shoot:   

o When you give a ship a shoot action, you may shoot any of its canons at any available target within range.   
o When a canon shoots, draw an invisible “line of fire” from the associated mast’s center point to any part of the 

target ship.  If this line crosses your own ship’s masts or sails, islands, or other ships, the shot may not be made.   
o Each mast is printed with a red or white die, indicating its range (Long or Short). 
o The number on the mast’s die represents the accuracy of that particular canon.  You must roll HIGHER THAN 

this number on a d6 in order to hit the target.   
o A die roll of 1 always misses. 
o When a ship is hit, its owner must choose and eliminate a mast from the ship.  If a ship has no masts, it is 

considered derelict, and cannot move.  If a derelict is hit, it sinks. 
• Repair:  A ship adjacent to an island (or, at the DM’s discretion, the designated “repairing” ship) can replace one mast. 
 
Sinking 
If your ship sinks, you and your crew must swim to stay afloat.  Each turn, you must make an Athletics check for yourself 
and your special crew member (don’t forget armor check penalties!).  If you fail this check by 5 or more, you sink to the 
bottom of the ocean and die.  Your special crew member has an Athletics bonus of 7. 
 

Crew 
You may add one of these crew members to your ship.  More than one ship may have the same type of crew member. 
Cannoneer: Once per turn, one of this ship’s canons may shoot again if it misses. 
Helmsman: This ship gets +S to her base move. 
Musketeer:  This ships gains one “Short 3” canon that may not have its range or canon roll increased.  It can shoot from any 
mast, even an eliminated one. 
Oarsman:  If derelict, this ship gains a base move of S. 
Shipwright:  This ship may repair at sea. 
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